Fun with Redis

August 15, 2010

I’ve been using Redis for projects on and off for some time, and there are some little hacks I’ve been doing and never extracted from bigger projects. Yesterday I had to sit home for some time doing a job that involved some idle time waiting, so it was time to hack.

First, I nailed a small RestMQ using Sinatra and Redis. Here’s the gist for the first version, which already works nice along with RestMQ. You can use it to expose a small part of your broker to the outside world. Later, talking with a colleague at work, I changed it a bit and ended up having the whole queue list and hard/soft get (deletes the message or just reads it). Another gist.

Then it was time of extracting Message Queue and Load Balancing patterns from code to my branch of the Redis Cookbook . Apart from the basic algorithm for RestMQ, there is a pattern which I sometimes use to do load balancing and replica spreading. It uses scored sets and although it seems naive, works pretty well along with consistent hashing.

After that I fixed some issues on RestMQ and txredisapi, the first were related to configuration issues and the later related to publish/subscribe.

About Pub/Sub, I ended up extracting a small PubSub server using Websockets, Redis and Node.js. It was initially embedded in another proxy I tried for RestMQ but it works well alone. Check the code. A little bit of code twisting and it can turn into a very flexible actor-based library for node.js. And of course, the PubSub thingy can also use redis as a presence server.

/me deserves pizza

2 Responses to “Fun with Redis”

  1. gm Says:

    thanks for the heads up kiddo.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

